MATP Advisory Committee Meeting Health and Welfare Building Room 327 12:30 PM -2:00 PM July 22, 2010

MATP Advisory Committee Members: Yvette Long, Dorothy Young, Minta Levingood, Marjorie Jackson, Jessica Mockabee, Coreeta Corioso, Sheila Gombita, Dave Trout, Sharon Love, Jim Farewell, Gene Suski, Richard Farr, Odessa Trinkle, Sandy Long

MATP Advisory Committee Operating Guidelines – The MATP Advisory Committee primary mission will be to advise the Department on issues regarding access and quality. The meeting will be held bi-monthly. The Committee is chaired by the Department of Public Welfare (DPW) and replaces the MATP Stakeholders meeting. Committee members include MA consumers, Philadelphia Health Law Project, nine county MATP administrators, county transit authorities, community action programs, PA County Commissioners Association, PA Public Transportation Association, and Pennsylvania Department of Transportation.

<u>MATP Consumer Survey</u> – DPW shared preliminary findings from its recent statewide survey of MATP services. While the overall results were positive, the Department is still finalizing the results that will culminate into a final report.

Review of the MATP Workgroup Report - The workgroup convened for seven months, to develop and implement numerous strategies to improve the effectiveness of the MATP. Policy discussions included recommendations for the exception process, mileage reimbursement pilot for methadone treatment, consumer's right to appeal the determination of mode, changes to the MATP grant agreement and regionalization of human services transportation.

<u>Methadone Mileage Update</u> – DPW plans to implement the policy that limits mileage reimbursement for methadone maintenance to the two closest clinics or 50 miles one-way. Phase I of the protocol will begin August 1st in Lawrence, Delaware, Blair, Berks, Lackawanna, Washington, Schuylkill counties. Phase II will begin September 1st in Huntingdon, Montgomery, Westmoreland, Fayette, Columbia, Bucks, Clarion, Mercer Counties. Phase III will begin October 1st in Beaver, Butler, Armstrong, Jefferson, Crawford, Wayne, York and Lancaster Counties.

New Policy Regarding Paratransit Services to Methadone – The committee discussed a policy from the Department that limits paratransit transportation for methadone maintenance to one of the two closest clinics from a consumer's residence. The policy would affect relatively few recipients and would be subject to an exception process. The consumers had concerns that the policy would limit access for methadone users. The Department requested further review and comment on the policy before the next committee meeting.

Meeting adjourned

Next meeting: September 23, 2010, 12:30-2:00 Room 327, Health and Welfare Building, Harrisburg